caret icon Back to all discussions

What triggers your HS flares?

Certain types of foods, products, stress, hormones, smoking, genetics, alcohol, and a host of other factors can cause HS flares. A place to exchange ideas, tips, and experiences all related to HS triggers.

What are your triggers? How did you figure them out?

1. I don't know what my triggers are. I get flairs on a monthly basis so I think mine are triggered by my menstrual cycle but since I'm going through menopause they have decreased in number although I do still get them they are not as bad but still worrisome. Believe it or not I just started getting treatment for them from a dermatologist.

1. if u don't mind me asking g what type of treatment and is it painful

2. Stress. I graduated from a masters program in May and still havent found a job. I am at my most streessed and I am currently battling 5 big lesions, 1 in a place that is totally random and new which means the disease is getting worse.

1. Triggers that I have been able to identify are: sugar, chocolate, ice cream, hot weather, overweight. I think sometimes we are HS detectives! Oh by the way, this is my 1st post! Hello everyone. Glad to be here. 😊